You are here
Home > Current Affairs > Daily Current Affairs > Maharashtra assembly elections 2019: All you need to know

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019: All you need to know

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019: All you need to know

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019: Key candidates include incumbent Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, former CMs Ashok Chavan, Prithviraj Chavan and Shiv Sena’s Aaditya Thackeray.

Oct 21, 2019 16:55 IST

facebook IconTwitter IconWhatsapp Icon

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019: Polling is currently underway for Maharashtra assembly elections 2019. The voting is being held in a single phase across 288 seats in the state. The election would see a face-off between the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance and Congress-NCP alliance.

Maharashtra assembly polling began at 7 am on October 21, 2019 and it will continue till 6 pm in the evening. Overall, 3,237 candidates are contesting in the Maharashtra assembly elections, out of which 235 are women and 1400 are independents. Further, 29 seats are reserved for SCs and 25 seats are for STs.

While the BJP and Shiv Sena are contesting in alliance, the Congress and NCP have formed their own alliance and many small regional parties are contesting either in alliance with the two parties or independently.

Also read: Assembly elections 2019: Polling begins in Maharashtra, Haryana

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019: Full Schedule

Maharashtra election schedule 2019

Issue of notification

September 27

Last date for filing of nominations

October 4

Scrutiny of Nominations

October 5

Last date for withdrawal of candidature

October 7

Polling Date

October 21

Election Result

October 24

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019

The main contending parties in the Maharashtra assembly elections 2019 include the ruling BJP- Shiv Sena alliance and the Congress-NCP. The BJP including its smaller allies is contesting in 164 seats, Shiv Sena in 126, Congress in 147 and the NCP in 121 seats.

Other parties in the fray include Raj Thackeray’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS), BSP, CPI, CPM and Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi.

The MNS has fielded 101 candidates, BSP has fielded candidates from 262 constituencies, CPI has fielded 16 and the CPM 8. Around1400 Independents are also contesting this time.

The Maharashtra assembly election is the first state elections alongside Haryana assembly elections to happen after the Lok Sabha elections 2019, which saw Narendra Modi-led BJP come back for a second term.

The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance had then won 41 out of the total 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, while the Congress had won just one and NCP had won four seats.

The term of the current state government led by BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis is scheduled to end on November 9. The BJP and Shiv Sena currently have a total of 217 seats in the state, while the Congress and the NCP have just 56 seats.

The Maharashtra assembly election results will be declared on October 24.

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019: Key Constituencies


Key Candidates

Nagpur South West

Devendra Fadnavis (BJP)

Ashish Deshmukh (INC)


Bapusaheb Gorthekar (BJP)

Ashok Chavan (Congress)

Karad South

Prithviraj Chavan (INC)

Atul Suresh Bhosale(BJP)


Aaditya Thackeray (INC)

Suresh Mane (NCP)


Ajit Pawar (NCP)

Gopichand Padalkar (BJP),

 Karjat Wankhede

Rohit Pawar (NCP)


Pankaja Munde (BJP)

Dhananjay Munde (NCP)


Sunil Rane (BJP)


Chandrakant Patil  (BJP)

Latur Rural

Dheeraj Deshmukh (INC)

Latur City

Amit Deshmukh (INC)

Shailesh Govindkumar Lahoti (BJP)

Solapur Central

Praniti Sushil Kumar Shinde (INC)

Dilip Brahmadeo Mane (Shiv Sena)

Nagpur North

Dr Milind Mane (BJP)

Dr Nitin Raut (NCP)


Bharat Gavit (BJP)


Nitesh Rane (BJP)

Sushil Amrutrao Rane (INC)


Namita Mundada (BJP)


Rohini Khadse (BJP)

Mumra Kalwa

Deepali Jahangir Sayed (Shiv Sena)

Jitendra Awhad (NCP)


Sahebrao Ramchandra Navale (Shiv Sena)

Balasaheb Thorat (INC)


Prof Ram Shankar Shinde (BJP)

Rohit Pawar (NCP)


Vidya Jaiprakash Thakur (BJP)

Mohite Yuvraj Ganesh (INC)


Vikhe Patil Radhakrishna Eknathrao (BJP)

Thorat Suresh Jagannath (INC)

Aurangabad East

Atul Moreshwar Save, Yusuf Mukati (NCP-Congress)

Gaffar Qadri (AIMIM)

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019 exit polls

Maharashtra assembly elections 2019 exit polls will be aired after the conclusion of voting, from 6.30 pm onwards.

As per the rules underlined by the Election Commission, no exit poll can be revealed till the last vote is cast, as it could potentially influence the vote.

Maharashtra assembly elections 2014

The Maharashtra assembly elections 2014 were held in October 2014. The 2014 state assembly elections resulted in the formation of a BJP-Shiv Sena coalition government with BJP’s Devendra Fadnavis as the Chief Minister.

The BJP and Shiv Sena could not arrive at a seat-sharing agreement before the elections and had contested separately. However, they both joined hands to form the coalition government post the result. The BJP had won 122 seats and Shiv Sena had won 63 seats.

Also read: Lok Sabha Election Results 2019: Key political bigwigs who lost

Also read: Rohit Sharma creates new Test record, surpasses Australia’s Don Bradman

error: Content is protected !!